top of page

Prive Cafe on Keppel Island

Prive Cafe is one of my favourites for various reasons; the food is excellent, the view of the yacht bay from the cafe is amazing, and it's so close to home I could pop over anytime. I have been there about 5 times, and I plan to return again.

The first time I was brought to Prive, I tasted the best omelette I have ever eaten - the D.I.Y. omelette ($15) with mushrooms as filling. I love my mushrooms, and I love them more in Prive's omelette. The omelette was served piping hot, and cutting it revealed the soft, wobbly, and deliciously eggy centre with a generous serving of mushrooms. You have an option to have your omelette with just the egg whites only. I feel that both taste equally good, but the egg white option is definitely healthier.

I have to say though, that the quality of the omelette varies. When I ordered it again during one of my return visits, it was too oily and overdone for my liking. This was probably because it was a Saturday afternoon and the crowd was much larger than my first omelette experience on a weekday afternoon.

My companion had the Prive Ultimate Brekkie ($20), which includes 2 eggs (any style), wholemeal toast, bacon, English Breakfast pork sausage, a Roma tomato, sauteed button mushrooms, and salad. That's a lot going on for one plate, and probably why this is their recommended and signature breakfast dish. In my opinion, though, nothing beats the omelette.

The Simply Prive burger ($26) is absolutely delish. Its Wagyu beef patty was thick and succulent, not too overdone, and the tomatoes in the salad were fresh. I'm a new and tentative burger fan, so ardent burger fans might feel differently, but I would recommend this (the cafe recommends it on their menu too!)

I got adventurous and ordered their Baked Eggs, Chorizo & Tomato (I can't remember the cost, probably around $17) during one of my visits there on Saturday for brunch. The toast was good as usual, but I couldn't appreciate the chorizo stew, it was a tad too savoury for me. That said, I'm not one to drink savoury soups like some people do (by this I mean the soups of laksa, mee siam, and any kind of curry), so this dish is probably suited for people who like drinking up every last drop of thick and savoury soups/sauces.

Their Caesar Salad ($16) is very generous with lots of fresh crunchy lettuce and herbed croutons. I didn't try their (very huge) cup of homemade Caesar dressing because I think salads are not salads anymore if you eat them with creamy dressings. It got boring after a while though. I quickly wished I wasn't such a health freak and ordered something more savoury instead.

And yes, it's time for dessert! Their signature Red Velvet Cake ($7) was oh-so-worth-it. It was a thick slice (sharing is recommended if you do not have a sweet tooth), very rich and awesome. I really liked the coconut shavings along the top and sides. Complimentary water is served, but I had the cake with the English Breakfast Tea - it comes with a complimentary cookie too.

The Sticky Date Pudding ($12) comes drenched in homemade butterscotch, and a huge scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. I found this to be VERY dense and - for lack of a better word - sticky, true to its name. Again, another winner for people with sweet tooths. I didn't enjoy this very much. The density, richness, stickiness, and sweetness was too overpowering for me. I ended up eating more of the ice cream - and I'm not a huge fan of ice cream. My friends loved this though.

LOOK AT THAT. Glorious Oreo Mud Pie ($12)! "Oreo cookie base, affogato swirl ice cream, Oreo cookie crumble, vanilla sauce, Valrhona chocolate sauce", says the description. Completely heavenly and sinful. Enough said.

I didn't get to photograph them, but I also recommend their Mini Danishes ($1.50 each) - I tried the apple strudel and chocolate roll versions, and both were served warm and perfect. Do also try their Banana Walnut Loaf ($3 per slice, $8 per loaf) - ask them to serve it warm.

Prive Cafe

2 Keppel Bay Vista, Singapore City 098382

Tel: (65) 6776 0777

Mon - Fri, Public holiday eves 9am - 12am (last order 11pm)

Sat - Sun, Public holidays 8am - 12am

Feeling hungry?

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Clare's

Cakery

bottom of page